What is a Class 7 MOT?

As a vehicle owner in the UK, you’re likely familiar with the annual MOT (Ministry of Transport) test, a test that ensures your vehicle meets the government's necessary safety and environmental standards. However, if you own a larger vehicle, such as a van or another type of commercial vehicle, you may need a Class 7 MOT, a test specially created to check certain safety and environmental features on larger vehicles.

In this short article, we delve a little deeper into the Class 7 MOT, looking at why it’s important, and what you need to know as the owner of a larger vehicle, possibly one (or a fleet) you use to run your business.

A refresher on the MOT system

Before getting into the details of a Class 7 MOT, here’s a quick refresher on the MOT system itself.

The MOT is a legal requirement for most vehicles in the UK that are over three years old. It is designed to make sure vehicles are roadworthy and safe, and that they meet various environmental requirements. A typical MOT test covers various aspects of your vehicle, including brakes, lights, steering and suspension, tyres, bodywork, doors, seatbelt condition, exhaust emissions and much more besides.

Classes of MOT

All vehicles that require an MOT are categorized into different classes. These classes help determine the specific testing criteria for each type of vehicle. The most common MOT classes are Class 4 and Class 7.

What is a Class 7 vehicle?

A Class 7 vehicle is a category that includes larger vehicles, such as goods vehicles with a maximum weight between 3001kg and 3500kg. This category will include commercial vans, larger campervans, and some minibuses.

Class 7 MOT

Class 7 MOT testing

Class 7 MOT testing is similar to the standard MOT test, but, it includes additional checks and inspections specific to larger vehicles. The main reason for this is to ensure optimal safety concerning the vehicles’ increased size and heavier loads.

The key aspects of a Class 7 MOT

  • Vehicle Components

    During a Class 7 MOT, various components of your vehicle will be thoroughly inspected. This will include the braking system, suspension, steering, lights, seatbelts and more. These components are checked to help ensure the overall safety of the larger vehicle and to help ensure the safety of other road users when near the vehicle or approaching the vehicle.

  • Weight and Load

    Since Class 7 vehicles are designed to carry larger loads, the MOT test also focuses on weight-related issues, including checking the chassis, and the vehicle's overall weight distribution.

  • Legal Requirements

    Just like a Class 4 MOT, a Class 7 MOT needs to be carried out every 12 months, unless the vehicle is less than 3 years old, or over 40 years old, and is officially classed as a classic vehicle.

If however, your Class 7 vehicle isn’t MOT exempt, driving without an in-date MOT certificate is illegal and can result in a fine of up to £2500 and three penalty points on your license.

Looking for a Class 7 MOT in Leighton Buzzard?

Then visit Jackson & Phillips, one of Leighton Buzzard's leading car and van servicing experts, specialising in providing Class 4, Class 5, and Class 7 MOTs, which includes some minibuses and campervans.

Enquire Online